The next to last opportunity for points generated great action this weekend as many racers vied not only for a team berth but the number one spot on the roster.  Just one week down the road and the 2019 Island Dragway Finals team will be set and we’ll all know who gets to represent the track at the Division One race with a chance to not only be the local champ but get to race for a national championship at Pomona in November.

Dave Hebig has been out of the news lately which lessened his chances of taking the class title, but the dragster driver from Orefield will be among the contenders at the finals and his win this week in Super Pro seemed to be a good tune up for hm.  Hebig had taken out Robbie Boyd early and soloed the quarters to go up against the hot hand of Richie Williams.  Williams, who has won the past three of four races in this bracket, almost got to try for a forth but beat himself with a foul light and 7.66, 132 against Hebig’s 7.47, 136.  Andrew Bracuto, who was the dominate car in the first half, bested the Mopar of Mike Sulc in the QF and byed the semis to face Hebig for the money.  Bracuto put on the red bulb by 4 thousandths of a second that made him second best at 8.29 and 123.59. Hebig motored a7.45 at 136 flat for the payout.

John Iacono has been relatively quiet since his great first half  but came to this week by winning Pro.  Tanner Kootsares in the Chrins Auto Camaro blew out Bob Dukin as Iacono trailered Joe Focarino and Mike Franek ran unopposed in the quarters.  Iacono automatically moved up from the semis to face Kootsares who won when Mike Franek, who has been on fire of late, went red and lost at 10.07, 126 versus Kootsares’ 10.06, 131.  Iacono, aboard the slowest vehicle in the bracket, got the better RT and held off the Chev top end as the Mustang recorded a 15.21, 81.48 ticket.  The second place finisher ticketed a 10.07 at125.38.

Sportsman honors went to Patty Franek when she outlasted Mike Barbone.  Franek and her Gremlin handled Paul Bogdan’sVette, Joe Coss took O\out Bill Wackermann and Jimbo Romagna got by Gary Coleman to go to the semis, along with a solo run by Mike Barb0one. From there, Franek won when Coss fouled out and Barbone slammed Romagna after a superior light.  The finalists left very close on the tree and neither wanted to break out and so a little brake pedal action came into the mix with Franek using the lighter touch for the win light as the Chevy/AMC entry carded an 11.57 and 111.43.  Barbone’s  El Camino  took runner-up at 11.75, 99.91.

With just three rounds in Bike, Barry Stephens secured another track championship even before he staged for the opener.  Stephens had accumulated enough points that no one could surpass him but he races for wins all the time regardless.  He made it to the final round against Chris Miele, last year’s champ, and Miele took him out when his .0-01 light and 9.240, 146.73 n the dial run was simply unbeatable.  Stephens lost with a 9.52 at 134.64.

Pat Campomizzi was the Trophy class victor, besting Michelle Zetterburg. The winner and his 56 Chevy ran 10.18, 128.08 to the S10’s 10.72 after both cars fouled and Trustart picked Campomizzi the sinner.

Robbie Boyd was better than John Graziano in Consolation One, 6.50 and 151 fo0r the dragster against the Chevy’s 7.88 and 128.  Consolation Two had nineteen entries and eventually was taken by Tyler Wyker and his S-10 when Craig Sonderfan was unable t0 answer the call to race.  

Zach McCormick beat Madison Meredith for J/D honors, 9.09, 69.892 versus a losing 7.90 at 80.13.  And John Hedenburg was the best of J/ST when he bested Theo Myers, 9.64 and 73.19 to a fouling 11.11 and 65.65.